Four in 2013

Today is the 11th Day of Christmas.

This is my third daughter, Marcella.  Marcella came to me as a 5 year old and is now 14 years old.  We have some not-so-stellar days as mother/daughter (as a friend of mine recently told me…’14’ should be a designated mental health diagnosis all its own 🙂

But on our fabulous days, this is the girl of my dreams.  She has such a deep heart for others and she notices when others are in trouble or need extra attention.  She hands her own snacks out the car window to the homeless men and women on the street corner when we stop at a traffic signal.  She holds and hugs and carresses any pet she can find.   She even notices what needs to be done around the house (sometimes) and helps without being asked.

And this year, she brought me to tears as she raised her sweet voice to sing The Magnificat as Mary in the pageant.  Many around me cried, too, because you could see she was truly raising a song of praise and gratitude!

My soul proclaims Your greatness, oh God,And my spirit rejoices in you.
You have looked with Love on your servant here,
And blessed me all my life through.

My soul proclaims Your greatness, oh God,
And my spirit rejoices in you.
You have looked with Love on your servant here,
And blessed me all my life through.

Leave a Reply

